Maintain Facebook accounts

From Documentation
Jump to: navigation, search

This feature is useful if you want the software to automatically perform various maintenance tasks for the accounts. For example, to check whether there are incoming friend requests in your Facebook accounts or whether someone poked you and it's time to poke that person back etc.

It makes sense to set up the schedule for this feature, and run it periodically on your Facebook accounts.

To avoid confusion, it is worth mentioning that there are 2 different types of friend requests on Facebook:

  1. When other users on the Facebook want to be your friends - we call that incoming friend requests. There are 2 things you can do with incoming friend requests - accept them or decline them. The software is able to automatically accept incoming friend requests. We see no sense to decline incoming friend requests, so that is not implemented. If you need it for any reason - let us know.
  2. When you want to add other users on the Facebook as your friends - we call that outgoing friend requests. Again, there are 2 things that you can do with them (but these are different from the 2 things above) - send friend request (you do that by clicking the Add button next to the person's details on the Facebook), or cancel friend request that you have sent previously. This time, the software is able to do both things for you. It is quite obvious why you would want to add friends. But why would anyone want to cancel outgoing friend requests? Usually, Facebook tracks the number of friend requests that were not accepted by other users, and if there are too many of such requests, Facebook may block your account or require phone verification etc. So this feature is meant to keep the number of outgoing friend requests low, by cancelling those requests that are unlikely to be accepted.


Requirements

Before using this feature, please make sure you have the following:

  1. At least one validated Facebook account - this account (or accounts) will be checked for incoming friend requests and/or for pokes.

How to use this feature

There are several ways to start the wizard:

  • go to Main menu->Wizards->Facebook and click on the corresponding wizard.
  • go to the list of Facebook accounts (Facebook->Accounts tab), select the ones you wish to set up for processing, right-clik the mouse and under the Bulk tasks select the wizard

Once in the wizard, you need to specify one or more Facebook accounts (if you haven't already done so by starting the wizard from the Facebook->Accounts tab). If you specify multiple accounts, then they will be polled in parallel on the background.

Next, you will need to select the types of incoming requests to process, the options are:

  • Accept incoming friend requests - if this box is checked, the software will automatically agree to all incoming friend requests from other Facebook users.
  • Poke back incoming pokes - if this box is checked, the software will automatically poke back all users who poked this account
  • Delete messages - if this box is checked, the software will automatically go to the account's list of messages and remove all of them
  • Auto like/share/comment timeline stories - if this box is checked, the software will automatically select random articles on the accounts' timelines, and will like, share and/or comment them.

You can also set up the software to act upon friend requests that have not been accepted by the users. This may be useful if you would like to limit the maximum number of outgoing friend requests for an account and have the software remove older requests before issuing new ones. It is also possible to re-send friend requests after cancelling them. This feature is controlled by the drop-down box with the following options:

  • Do nothing - the software will not act upon outgoing friend requests
  • Cancel - the software will cancel outgoing friend requests
  • Re-send - the software will cancel outgoing friend requests, and then re-send them again.

Obviously, you need to select either Cancel or Re-send in the drop-down box for this feature to work. Also, you need to tell the software WHEN it should cancel or re-send requests. There are 2 options:

  • Cancel or re-send the friend requests older than the specified time frame.
  • Cancel or re-send the friend requests when their number for this Facebook account exceeds certain threshold.

For example, if you would like the software to cancel friend requests that were not accepted by the users during 3 days (since they were sent out), then you would set the drop-down box to "Cancel" and put "3 days" into the "if older than" box. It is possible to combine conditions, i.e. you can tell the software to cancel requests older than certain age, AND also cancel the oldest requests if they exceed certain number. For example, if you want to keep no more than 100 requests at all times and cancel all requests above that number, and also cancel all requests older than 3 days (even if they are under 100), then you would put "3 days" into the "if older than" box and put "100" in the "or more than" box.

Please keep in mind, that the cancel/resend friend requests feature is available only for friend requests sent by the software. If you imported your Facebook accounts and they already had some outgoing friend requests that were not accepted, the software will NOT be able to track those and will not be able to apply the cancel/resend feature to those friend requests. Also, if you removed Facebook account from the software and then re-imported it, the information about outgoing friend requests will be lost and this feature will not work. However, for all new friend requests issued by the software from such accounts, the feature will work as expected.

Finally, you can set the Schedule for this task. If left empty, the task will start immediately, as soon as you click "Finish" button. Otherwise, it will be scheduled to run at the time (or times) of your choice. This article covers scheduling feature in detail.

If you checked the Auto like/share/comment timeline stories box, you will now have a chance to customize the process. The following options are available:

  • Specify the maximum age of the stories. For example, if you set this to 3 days, then only stories from the last 3 days will be acted upon, older ones will be ignored.
  • Specify percentage of stories to like. For example, if you set this to 30%, and the software found 10 stories on the timeline, it will randomly select 3 stories and click "Like" button on them.
  • Specify percentage of stories to share. For example, if you set this to 70%, and the software found 10 stories on the timeline, it will randomly select 7 stories and share it on the account's timeline.
  • Specify percentage of stories to comment. For example, if you set this to 50%, and the software found 10 stories on the timeline, it will randomly select 5 stories and will comment on them.
  • Specify the message to use when sharing/commenting. The message may be tokenized, and new variation will be generated for every comment or share.

If you specify "0" for the percentage, the respective action will not be taken. For example, if you set percentage of stories to like to "0", then none of the stories will be liked.


This feature creates a Bulk task. Please read more about bulk tasks and how to manage them here