Versioning

From Documentation
Jump to: navigation, search

The software is always under active development, so we release new versions often. Generally this is great, but sometimes may be inconvenient for conservative users, or those who got used to certain behavior of the software and don't like the way it has changed. To mitigate these issues, we have developed a versioning system, that allows you to easily switch between different versions of the software. Each version has a unique number attached to it, looking like this:

M.S.B.R, where
 - M stands for Major version
 - S stands for Sub-version, or minor version
 - B stands for Build number
 - R stands for Revision number
  • Major version is changed whenever the software is totally re-built or re-designed in such a way, that it acts significantly different from the previous version. Major version change also indicates that conceptual changes have been made to the software, and the new version will most probably not be compatible with the old versions.
  • Sub-version (minor version) is changed when new features have been added to the software, or existing bugs/issues have been fixed. The changes are significant, but not conceptual, and the software stays compatible with the older versions.
  • Build number is a continuous ordinal number of the release. This number tells how many different versions of the software were released. When major and minor version numbers stay the same and the build number changes, it usually indicates insignificant minor fixes or minor updates to the software.
  • Revision number indicates whether this release is stable or experimental. The revision number of 0 (zero) means that this is a stable build. Any number greater than 0 is an experimental build.

Switching between different versions

We always do our best to make sure that every new release is better than the previous one. Nevertheless, sometimes bugs creep in along with the new features, and may affect even stable versions. This is one of the reasons why you may want to go back to the older and 'known-to-work-fine' version temporarily, until we fix whatever issue you may be having. Sometimes, it may seem that the old version worked better than the new one and you want to check that. Whatever the reason is - it is possible to switch between the versions relatively easy. There are 2 ways to do that:

  1. When you update the software, it automatically stores previous version on your computer. By default, up to 3 previous versions are kept in history (this can be changed in settings). When you update the software for the 4th time - the oldest version gets removed from the history, and the previous version takes it place. The same happens on all subsequent updates, so there are always 3 previous versions in the history that you can go back to without downloading anything. To take advantage of this feature, you just need to hold the Shift key on your keyboard when starting the software. You will see a list box, allowing you to select the version to start.
  2. If you want to go back to the specific version (you must know its full version number, for example, 1.0.12.0), and it is not available in your local version history, you can download the installer package for that particular version from our server using any web browser. All you need to do, is specify full version number in the following URL:
http://217.23.4.127/deploy/fbdm/setup.exe?version=M.S.B.R

For example, if you need to get version 1.0.12.0, the URL will be:

http://217.23.4.127/deploy/fbdm/setup.exe?version=1.0.12.0

When you open this link in your browser, you will get an installation package, that will let you install an older version of the software. You do not need to worry about un-installing current version, that isn't necessary. However, we recommend that you back up your data before proceeding

Automatic updates

When you start the software, it will automatically contact the server to check whether an updated version is available. If it is, you will get a corresponding prompt and can update the software if you want. The update is fully automatic, all you need to do is click the "Yes" button and the software will take care of the rest. Automatic updates can be customized through the System->Settings->Automatic updates menu in the software. The following settings are available:

  • How often the software checks for updates. The default is 60 minutes. If you set this option to 0 - you will disable automatic checking for updates.
  • How many previous versions should be kept on the computer (the default is 3). See the section above for the explanation.
  • The level of automation - should the software ask before downloading/installing the new version, or should it do that silently
  • Do you want to use experimental builds or not

Change log

When we add new features or fix bugs, we attempt to keep our users posted about all the new changes. This is done via the Change log feature, available from the Main menu->System. Change log contains the list of changes in the latest releases. The list also allows you to browse older changes, up to the initial release, so you can see how the software evolved over time. Whenever the software detects a new release, it will automatically attempt to download change log and, if available, will open the window with the latest changes. Please keep in mind that we attempt to keep the change log clean and concise, so not minor enhancements and bug fixes may not be listed. It is possible that you see new version of the software, but no change log entry for it. It means that the changes were of minor importance.

Running experimental builds

Experimental builds contain new features, but they also contain bugs, sometimes severe ones. By default, the software will not download experimental builds. If you want to enable this - you can check the corresponding box under system->settings->automatic updates. If you don't like the experimental build you just downloaded - it is possible to go back to the stable version. Please check the Switching between different versions section to learn how.